Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join
School Choice
Share |

Choice: Guide to PreK-12 Education in Arkansas

When it comes to public education, one size (or school, or system) doesn't fit all. Arkansas resident students and families, no matter their culture, economic status, or ZIP Code, have a right to the following public education choices:

  • Register, enroll at your assigned school of your resident school district
  • Apply for intra-district  transfer to your school of choice within your resident school district
  • Apply for inter-district transfer to your school of choice in a non-resident district (Deadline May 1st)
    • Application
    • Rules
    • Deadline (May 1)
      "This application must be filed in the nonresident district or postmarked no later than May 1 of the year in which the applicant would begin the fall semester at the nonresident district."
    • Appeal
      "A student whose application for transfer is rejected by the nonresident district may request a hearing before the State Board of Education to reconsider the transfer by filing such a request in writing with the Commissioner of Education no later than ten (10) days after the student or student’s parent receives a notice of rejection."
    • Circuit Court Relief
      If the appeal before the State Board of Education is denied, the Attorney General's Opinion of July 7, 2015 speculates "that a parent of a student would mount a challenge by seeking relief from a court of competent jurisdiction."

School Choice Exemptions 

Only the seven school districts of Garland County, El Dorado School District, and Jacksonville/North Pulaski School District have been enabled by a U.S. District Court to not participate in Arkansas's Inter-district School Choice. Of those, only Garland County's districts are precluded. The boards of both El Dorado and Jacksonville/North Pulaski County could choose to participate, as have the previously exempting boards of Pulaski County Special and Texarkana.

However, nothing precludes Arkansans from applying for School Choice transfer to or from any of these districts by the appropriate deadline, then pursuing appeal to the Circuit Court if denied. Below are links to the exempting school districts' claimed basis for exemption.

If you would like to launch, support a public campaign(s) to convince any of the aforementioned districts to choose Choice, contact Gary Newton,


Arkansas Department of Education


Arkansas Department of Education


University of Arkansas Office for Education Policy


Top 5%, 6-10% Performing and Improving Schools in Arkansas

Community Search
Sign In

Latest News
Featured Members